WWW Wednesday – August 23

WWWWednesday

WWW Wednesday is a meme hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words and was formerly hosted by A Daily Rhythm. It is open for anyone to participate, even without a blog you can comment on Sam’s post with your own answers. It is a great way to share what you’ve been reading! All you have to do is answer three questions and share a link to your blog in the comments section of Sam’s blog.

The three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?

What did you recently finish reading?

What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading?

29960675

“I would remember them forever–their names, my reasons, the way their bodies slumped in death and their eyes stared through me. If I stopped, if I let their deaths weigh me down and keep me from being Opal, it was all for nothing. There was no going back. I was what I was, and they were a part of me now.”

Mask of Shadows (Untitled #1) by Linsey Miller. I’m fairly certainly anyone into YA fantasy has seen this book floating around the blogs and social media by now. Most everyone is hating on it and the amount of DNFs listed on Goodreads is off the charts. You know what, I don’t get it. I’m actually enjoying the book. Yes, there are similarities to other works but that doesn’t rub me the wrong way as it seems to for many other readers. If the concept is entertaining, I’m going to read it. Who cares if someone else did it first? I read to be entertained.

What did you recently finish reading?

30237061

Wicked, wicked to the core, 
the city will burn forevermore

Daughter of the Burning City by Amanda Foody . This book was everything I expected it to be. There was a lot of hype surrounding it when it came out and I was afraid it would dip well below expectations because hyped books certainly tend to do that. Luckily, that didn’t happen. For now I’ll say that the world building was wonderful and my full review will be up, hopefully, on the 25th.

What do you think you’ll read next?

35137988

The Censor’s Hand (Thrice~Crossed Swords Trilogy #1) by A.M. Steiner. This book was provided to me by Netgalley and, to be honest, I’m having second thoughts. Many previous reviewers are calling it a high fantasy which is completely and totally not my thing. We’ll see though. I’ll still give it a shot because I gave my word that I would. It is also currently averaging a 4.67 on Goodreads which is rarely a bad thing.

divider2bpng2b11

 

That is all for this Wednesday.

What are you reading? 

5 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday – August 23

  1. I’m glad to hear that Daughter of the Burning City didn’t disappoint! You really never know with hyped books! 🙂 I do hope you like The Censor’s Hand more than expected. Who knows! Maybe it’ll draw you in. 🙂

    Like

  2. I’m really looking forward to getting to both Mask Of Shadows and Daughter Of The Burning City! I have the audiobook for the latter sitting on my phone and I have no idea why I haven’t started it yet… especially since I was really looking forward to it! And Mask of Shadows sounds like it would be right up my alley as it has been said it is great for fans of Sarah J Maas and Leigh Bardugo and I really like both authors!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So far Mask of Shadows is pretty entertaining. I’m about 40% in. Good pacing. Only thing really getting on my nerves is that the main character brings up that they are gender fluid every three pages. It is getting a little tiresome.
      Daughter of the Burning City was great. Definitely a solid 4. Can’t say enough about Foody’s world building.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s